About Us

The NPHFI exists to facilitate contact between researchers and writers in the field of newspaper, periodical, journalism and printing history, and to strengthen institutional links between third level teaching and research institutions, libraries and other organizations concerned with media history. It organizes an annual conference and provides a valuable forum for academics, researchers and journalists to meet in an informal environment to discuss and debate relevant issues.

It serves as a valuable network for those interested in developing collaborative works and also provides a platform for emerging academics to present their work to the country’s leading media historians in a formal, but supportive environment.

Membership of the Forum is open to all individuals with an interest in the history of newspapers and periodicals, on payment of an annual fee. Institutional subscriptions are also available.

The Forum’s Constitution sets out our aims, objectives, and administrative procedures. The day-to-day running of the Forum and its events are undertaken by the Executive Committee, which is elected by members at the Forum’s Annual General Meeting.

Executive Committee  

Chair: Regina Ui Chollatáin (UCD)
Treasurer: Felix Larkin (Ind.)
Secretary: Ray Burke (RTÉ)
Publicity Officer: Joe Breen (Ind.)
Publications Officer: Aoife Whelan (UCD)
Public Engagement Officer: Mark O’Brien (DCU)
James O’Donnell (NUIG)
Joan Allen (Newcastle University)
Richard Allen (Newcastle University)
Conor Campbell (QUB)
Michael Foley (DIT)
Alan McCarthy (UCC)
Siobhán O’Donovan (NLI)
Oliver O’Hanlon (UCC)
Maurice Walsh (Goldsmiths, University of London)